How I Got 3 Internships At Microsoft

How I Got 3 Internships At Microsoft

This is how I landed an internship @ Microsoft without referrals and from a community college đź‘€

Research

Coming from a different college major it was difficult to know what they were looking for going into a new field but something that really helped me was researching YouTube videos "top things to know for students in my major applying for internships in “XYZ” field".

Something that helped me was reaching out to alumni who worked or scored these FAANG internships or in my case since I couldn’t find any on LinkedIn, looking for people who are actively helping others in the tech space to score these internships and prepare. They have that desire to help and if you come with a genuine (and heavy on the UNDEMANDING) attitude there is a pretty solid chance they will help.

RAMP UP THAT RESUME

If you take anything away from this then take away this: there's no way you're getting to the interview stage unless you can make it past the automatic resume screener.

Something I discovered when I was researching is that a lot of mid-size/major companies will have resume review software that will scan for keywords in resumes and if it doesn’t meet a certain percentage of said keywords it will automatically get put aside.

LinkedIn Resume Builder is a good resource for a starting point in crafting your resume because it will suggest skills that many companies or looking for according to your specified field.

Something else to take note of is to not be overly humble but also not to exaggerate your skillset to look more impressive. When I tell you that the interviewer will know exactly which questions to ask to see if you know your stuff, I mean it. They will know what you exaggerate. However, they can’t ask questions on experience that you don’t write so make sure to write as much technical (and in the case of a lot of 1st and 2nd years) and soft skill experience.

Get yourself some good projects going

Never underestimate the power of some good projects and hackathon experience.

Whenever I applied I think something that helped me a lot was my hackathon experience from my freshman year. I was so incredibly fortunate to have worked with an amazing team so that we could put out a great project.

  • Participate in local organizations and events.
  • Find ways to build projects not just on your own but also with others to show that you can work collaboratively.

Working with others successfully is a valuable skill, show it and own it.

I applied early.

I feel like something that is severely understated is that depending on how early in the game you apply, the more likely you are to get a chance to be interviewed.

This is especially the case if you don’t have the privilege of a university recruiter coming onto your campus or if you are applying with no references whatsoever. In my case, I applied the minute applications opened up for my desired internship and had all my information locked, loaded, and ready to go.

Lastly, Connect with the Company

For me, Microsoft was more than just a place of work. Something maybe dumb/naive I did as a freshman in my major was only apply to one major company which was Microsoft because I truly connected with their mission to not just accept but empower every sort of person. I also love accessibility and Microsoft is such an accessibility-forward company that it was the only major company I truly felt connected to.

If you can connect to the positive in a company in one way or another I can guarantee you that the interviewer will feel it. It will lead to extremely positive conversations with those who work there.

Also, don’t let the nerves overpower you. Pretend like they’re already you’re coworkers. Remember they aren’t just assessing your technical skills but also to see if you’re a good company/team fit.

Thank you so much for tuning in and sorry about the delay. Due to a lot of situations going on around me, it has been a bit difficult to put things out in a timely fashion but I promise the articles will roll out.

Sending hugs and once again, happy coding everyone!

Â